pumpkin spice latte

It’s almost completely dark as I’m writing, because-and we all know the answer to this- FALL is here!

Honestly, it feels to me like summer just started, and yet so much has happened, in each of our lives, that time just seemed to pass extra quickly the past three or four months. That’s what I feel God telling me to write about today.

Moving into college has been a super fun adventure, and I’ve made new habits and restarted old habits, such as when I journal (usually in the mornings or at night) and working out (definitely a new habit). But as much as I agree that it’s good to have a schedule and plan free time, sometimes it needs to be just that-free time.

I’m a sucker for planners, and I’ve told so many people this. I love schedules, being able to make a checklist-sometimes I even add things I’ve already done to my checklist just so I can check them off immediately!- and looking back on how productive I was (or how many episodes of Downton Abbey I crammed into one day-so far that record is at 7 episodes, aka all of season 1).

It’s the breaks from the regular that get me though. They draw me closer to God, and in truth, that’s what puts me in a good mood, what makes me appreciate living in a free country all over again.

I had one class today, and for the rest of the day, I did homework for this and for the upcoming week, which included reading the Gospel of Mark for my Religion 150 class. And boy, was that exactly what I needed! An assignment to read God’s Word. And while we may discuss the content in class, and while I probably won’t agree with my professor on every argument (that is the point of college), I’ll still have that time with Jesus, fellowshipping and reading His Word for hours on end.

I finished reading and felt like taking a break.

Park time!

I grabbed Starbucks (no not the PSL, still not accepting fall), and leisurely headed to Tattnall Square Park, where I sat by the fountain and added to my list of 1,000 things I’m thankful for. Valerie Woerner, owner of Val Marie Paper, one of my favorite bloggers and Christian role models, created a simple journal with 1,000 lines for writing down 1,000 gratitudes in a year-3 a day. (http://www.valmariepaper.com/)

Honestly, I am nowhere near caught up on my gratitudes, but it’s amazing to see how often I repeat something that I’m thankful for, and how it is SO EASY to be thankful; it’s merely a perspective shift, not a habit change. If you can see the world as perfectly orchestrated by God then a flat tire can become a chance to rest and reflect for the day, and all it takes is seeing the glass as half full which we humans have to WORK to not do!

As we get older, I feel like with all  the responsibilities we begin to see life negatively, and only worry about each next day.

Before I end up doing that, I’d rather have moments like today where I paused and looked up at the sky, noting that, yes, there were clouds in the sky today, or to watch the cute little African-American boy run screeching to his parents across the fountain patio.

How do children have so much joy and faith?

They know their parents will take care of them, and it’s not even a thought that crosses their mind.

I want to be like that, trusting God in EVERY circumstance, doing my part to ensure success, but knowing that for every task that I complete, for every 6 handbreadths that I accomplish, I need God’s hand on my life to make my work prosper and shine for His glory.

So especially now that school has restarted, fall is upon us, and a select few are already prepping for Thanksgiving and Christmas, I encourage you to breathe.

Just. Breathe.

Try it and see if it makes you feel any better.

I know it will.

Beathe. Then tell yourself that you are loved, you are wanted, you are a child of God.

We all need to hear his.

Every day.

Open up the Bible without a goal in mind, read what comes up and let me know if it doesn’t apply to what you’re facing that day.

God still works.

He may not part the Red Sea anymore, but he really doesn’t need to.

That was to rescue the Israelite and bring them into the Promised Land. Now, the Promised Land is anywhere His believers are gathered together, and Jesus rescued us eternally when He gave His life for us.

Everything in your life happens for a reason, and that’s IN THE BIBLE.

Jeremiah 29:11 says “For I know the plans I have for you, declares the Lord. Plans to prosper you and not to harm you; plans to give you a hope and a future.”

Now if that isn’t a reason to make you smile, then I don’t know what is. Not only does God have plans for each of us in this mayhem, but He adds that they are GOOD plans.

Take 2 minutes every morning and write down three things you’re thankful for. Or do it at night. Consider God’s faithfulness and that He gives it to us as a gift.

Curl up in your bed, and instead of catching up on Facebook or Instagram, reach for your Bible. It’ll leave you better rested (screen time before bed and all that sciency stuff) and it’s sure to calm your heart.

God is in the little things. All we have to do is look. ♥

 

PS: Listen to “Ever Be” by Aaron Shust. It’s playing in my background right now and it’s incredibly powerful.

Leave a Reply

